Saimoe 2012 Update: Saki success shows

A first for the Saimoe tournament: One anime franchise has completely filled all the spots in the quarterfinals.

Damn you Saki !!!

At this point, I don’t know any of the characters here. I’ll stop my updates here.

But I gotta give these characters some praise. After doing some research, I found that at least 2 members made it to the quarterfinals in both the 2009 and 2010 tourneys.

I’ve lost my own bet and will have to watch this show, two (somewhat unrelated) seasons worth of mahjong cuteness. Maybe I’ll get to learn how to play, my family does have a mahjong set after all.

But wait, there’s more!

On related news, a new show has been announced for the franchise. Aptly named the “National Tournament” arc will be animated sometime in 2013. Is this due to the Saimoe domination or just a coincidence? At least the title is fitting.

4 Comments

Filed under Saimoe

4 responses to “Saimoe 2012 Update: Saki success shows

  1. Pikachu

    Are you going to blog about Saki after you finish watching it?

    • Sure. I did make a promise to write a review if any Saki character won. I just need to find time to watch it now. Expect a post about it “soon.”
      Thanks Pikachu!

      • Pikachu

        ‘Maybe I’ll get to learn how to play, my family does have a mahjong set after all.’

        Just make sure you learn Japanese mahjong, not Chinese mahjong. Japanese mahjong and Chinese mahjong have different rule. I know some Saki fan who try to learn mahjong after watching Saki. They thought Chinese mahjong and Japanese mahjong are same and got confuse.

      • Thanks for the tip, I didn’t know there was a difference.

Leave a Reply

