Prospecting, Winter 2013 Anime

Happy New Year everyone! You all know what that means, a new anime season is upon us.

Winter Catgirls

I’m not so sure how this season is shaping up in terms of highly anticipated shows; I’m out of the loop on a majority of them. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Shown below is my annotated version of the winter lineup infographic from TRoaAF with what I’m interested in. The annotations are pretty easy to understand:

Green Check – Guaranteed viewership.

Red X – Not likely due to various reasons like sequels or not falling into my interest.

Blue Tilde – Undecided, will check out the first episode and make my judgement from there.

(Click image for fullsize)

Winter 2013 jamoe Annotated

So yeah, I don’t see much. Here are some comments on a select few shows:

  • Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai NEXT – The first season was fine except for the ending. Hopefully this sequel makes up for it.
  • Vividred Operation – Reading the synopsis makes me think of this show as Strike Witches clone more and more. At least they’re wearing pants… right?
  • Tamako Market – The K-On character design is stunningly similar. Does that mean we have another s-o-l hit on the way?
  • This season includes more five minute anime in the lineup. Is this a new venture the studios are trying out?

I’m fine with a small list of potential shows this season. Besides, I still have shows that are continuing from last season, including Little Busters, Magi, Robotics;Notes and Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo. All boasting extended episodes or more.

Let me know what you’ll be watching in the comments. Also, what do you believe will be a sleeper hit this season? If there is one that is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Winter 2013

Leave a Reply

